The “Agreement on mutual visa exemption between the Government of the Republic of Azerbaijan and the Government of the Republic of Turkey” signed in Baku on February 25, 2020 will enter into force on August 13, 2020.

The agreement aims to strengthen the friendly relations and cooperation between the two countries and to facilitate travels of citizens of both countries. With the agreement, citizens of Turkey and Azerbaijan holding a valid passport shall be exempted from visa requirements for 90 (ninety) days in order to enter, transit, exit and stay temporarily in the territory of each country. Persons wishing to stay in the country for more than 90 (ninety) days must apply in advance for a temporary residence permit.

Passports belonging to citizens of both countries must be valid for at least 6 (six) months from the date of entry into the territory of the respective country. Citizens of both countries must follow the rules and procedures arising from national legislation. Turkish citizens, temporarily residing in the Republic of Azerbaijan more than 15 days must be registered at the place of residence.