Pakistan’s parliament is set to elect the country’s new prime minister for a five-year term on March 3, according to the schedule issued by the National Assembly secretariat on Thursday, Report informs via Anadolu.

The nomination papers for the prime minister’s election will be received on Saturday, while the polling will be held on Sunday at the Parliament House in Islamabad.

A coalition led by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has named Shehbaz Sharif, the former prime minister and the head of the PML-N, as its candidate for the coveted post for a second term.

Whereas, the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) of the jailed ex-Prime Minister Imran Khan has pitched its chief organizer Omar Ayub Khan as its candidate for the coveted post.