Member states of the European Union (EU) decided on Wednesday to begin loosening restrictions for travelers from the United States.

Since the start of the Covid-19 pandemic, travel restrictions in the European Union have stopped Americans – along with many other nationalities – from entering EU member states unless engaged in essential travel.

As of Wednesday, however, EU member states agreed to begin loosening the restrictions for those coming from the United States – allowing travel again in the near future.

Taiwan, Serbia, Lebanon, Albania, and Macedonia were also added to the list.

According to AP, the recommendation to begin loosening restrictions “is non-binding, and national governments have authority to require test results or vaccination records and to set other entry conditions.” The EU is currently developing a vaccine passport system which would make pandemic travel between member states easier. (RT)