Austria is issuing travel warnings for Romania, Moldova, and Bulgaria because of the worsening coronavirus situation in these countries, Report says, citing RIA Novosti.
“Anyone who travels to these countries despite a travel warning has to go into a 14-day home quarantine after returning to Austria, or show a negative COVID test,” Chancellor Sebastian Kurz and foreign affairs minister Alexander Schallenberg told a news conference broadcast on social media.
Checks at the Hungarian and Slovenian borders will also be increased, they added.
In recent days, the Austrian authorities record an increase in COVID-19 cases, with more than a hundred new infections aper day, as it was in April. The authorities link this development with the “import” of disease from other countries.
Besides, Austria does not plan to open borders to third countries, despite the recommendation of the EU Council, foreign Minister Alexander Schallenberg said on Wednesday.
The EU Council on Tuesday agreed on a recommendation to gradually lift restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU, adopting a list of countries for which borders can start opening on July 1.

Subscribe to our Linkedin page
News Department

Post’s author

News Department

If you find out orphographic mistake in the text, please select mistaken part of the text and press Ctrl + Enter.